Skip to Main Content

MS - ZIS Middle School Library Resources: Gr 8 Electromagnetic Waves

Welcome page

Electromagnetic waves

How do we use the electromagnetic spectrum in our everyday lives?

How does our body respond to different kinds of electromagnetic stimuli?

What sort of waves exist in the universe?

What properties do all waves share?

What are the dangers of the electromagnetic spectrum in our everyday lives?

Quick Links

The Design Model
Subject Assignment
Note Taker
Newsela Text Set
Purdue In-Text Citations
In MLA style, referring to the works of others in your text is done by using what is known as parenthetical citation.
Further Samples of In-Text Citation
Bibliographies/Works Cited and In-Text Citations help avoid plagiarism.
The Online Complete Guide to the MLA 8 8th Edition
EasyBib now supports MLA 8th Edition.

The Complete Guide to MLA 8 - pdf

Websites to get you started.

NASA: Imagine the Universe
Explore a universe of black holes, dark matter, and quasars... A universe full of extremely high energies, high densities, high pressures, and extremely intense magnetic fields which allow us to test our understanding of the laws of physics.
BBC: Electromagnetic Spectrum
The electromagnetic spectrum activity

Infrared, x-rays, visible light... where do they all fit in the electromagnetic spectrum? Find out in this activity.
Purdue University: The Atom and Electromagnetic Radiation
Cal Tech: Cool Cosmos: What is Infrared
Infrared is a form of light... light that we can not see with our eyes, but that we can sometimes feel on our skin as heat.
The Electromagnetic Spectrum
Many devices you probably use every day are made possible by the electromagnetic spectrum. Some examples of these useful items are radios, cell phones, and microwave ovens.
Scientists and Electromagnetic Waves
James Clerk Maxwell was trying to understand electromagnetic waves around 150 years ago. Heinrich Hertz investigated how Maxwell's theory applied to radio waves.
Using the Spectrum
Learn about the large families of waves that travel at the speed of light in a vacuum.
The Spectrum - Newsela

Links

Destiny Discover
MSK Destiny Catalog
Overdrive
Online Britannica - For ALL Levels
Access to Britannica's Launch Packs and Original Sources
Online Encyclopedia Britannica
Follett Shelf eBooks
Easybib

Easybib Instructional Guide
How to navigate Easybib

EBSCOHost Databases - including Middle School Explora and Flipster
Ebsco Databases
Flipster - online magazines
Wolfram Alpha
Need statistics or answers with numbers? Wolfram Alpha is a computational knowledge engine.

MLA 8 Basics

Sweet Search
more...less...
A Search Engine For Students
Today's Science
Earth Science
Requires login - See the Digital Resources box in the right margin of this page for all required logins.
Life Science
Requires login - See the Digital Resources box in the right margin of this page for all required logins.
Physical Science
Requires login - See the Digital Resources box in the right margin of this page for all required logins.
News Bank
NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as ......
Newsela
Current event articles scaled at five different Lexile reading comprehension levels.
Schmoop
Shmoop is a digital curriculum and test prep company that makes fun, rigorous learning and teaching materials. Shmoop content is written by master teachers and Ph.D. students from Stanford, Harvard, UC Berkeley, and other top universities.
Wikkipedia List of Online Newspaper Archives
This is a list of online newspaper archives and some magazines and journals, including both free and pay wall blocked digital archives.
EBSCO - Middle Search Plus
EBSCO - Explora Middle School

Videos and Interactives

Infrared
Move the infrared camera over the item and list the hottest and coldest parts of the item/picture.
NOVA: Tour the Electromagnetic Spectrum
This interactive activity from the NOVA Web site provides a self-guided tour of the electromagnetic spectrum, including examples of some of the most common uses of different types of waves.
Electromagnetic spectrum
Questions and Concepts
Astronomical Images in Different Wavelengths
Images from a variety of telescopes show different aspects of the same astronomical objects.

Newsela articles

Text Set

Books in our Catalog

Waves by Paul Fleisher
Call Number: 539.2 FLE
ISBN: 0822529874
Publication Date: 2001-01-08
Presents illustrated explanations of how light, electricity, and magnetism work, describing the laws of optics and electromagnetism and Ohm's and Joule's laws, and providing a time line, biographical sketches of scientists, and a selected bibliography.
Exploring Sound, Light, and Radiation by Andrew Solway
Call Number: 531 SOL
ISBN: 9781404237469
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
An exploration of sound, light, and radiation that explains what they are and discusses the anatomy of a wave, hearing, the science of music, seeing light, color, and more. Includes a glossary and resources.
Light and Sound by Steve Parker
Call Number: 535 PAR
ISBN: 0739810111
Publication Date: 2000-10-15
Presents information, facts, figures, photographs, charts, and diagrams that explain the science of light and sound, discussing color and brightness, ears and hearing, sound waves, echoes and sonar, lasers and holograms, and other topics.
Radio and Television by Ian Graham
Call Number: 621.384 GRA
ISBN: 0739831879
Publication Date: 2000-05-02
Examines developments in the world of communications technology as they relate to radio and television, looking at radio waves, satellite television, closed circuit television, digital versatile disks, digital broadcasting, remote monitoring, electronic bugs, and radio signals in space.
Manipulating Light by Darlene R. Stille; Farhana Hossain (Illustrator)
Call Number: 535 STI
ISBN: 9780756517168
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Presents a simple study on the physics of light and how light waves behave, and examines why stars twinkle, how telescopes and prisms work, and more.
Magnetism and Electromagnets by Eve Hartman; Wendy Meshbesher
Call Number: 538 HAR
ISBN: 9781410932662
Publication Date: 2009-01-22
An illustrated introduction to magnetism and electromagnets that explains magnetic fields, electricity, motors and generators, particle accelerators, and other related topics; and includes......
Waves by Paul Fleisher
Call Number: 539.2 FLE
ISBN: 0822529874
Publication Date: 2001-01-08
Presents illustrated explanations of how light, electricity, and magnetism work, describing the laws of optics and electromagnetism and Ohm's and Joule's laws, and providing a......

Zurich International School
Steinarcherstrasse 140
8820 Wädenswil, Switzerland
+41 (0) 58 750 2500