Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

US - AP Seminar: Databases

Unit support for AP Seminar at ZIS

Subscription Databases

ZIS subscribes to a number of databases some of which feature peer reviewed academic articles which you will not find on the internet.  Access three of these databases on this page or go to the Library Moodle page for our full list of databases and passwords.

Database Advice

Searching the databases helps you to find reliable, academic information.  Learn the focus of the databases which are available to you through your academic institution.  For example, Britannica School Edition is an excellent place to start any research as you will find general, introductory encyclopedic information on your topic including publicly licensed images from Image Quest and multi media.  Whereas, JSTOR is a database of scholarly articles on the humanities, sciences and arts.  EBSCO Host gives you access to periodicals covering a wide range of subject areas that are of interest to high-school students including art, history, sports, music, film, travel, science, the Internet, fashion, religion, nature, hobbies, current events, fiction and much more.  Remember that all databases and passwords can be found on the library moodle page.

Britannica School Edition

EBSCO Host

Research databases
Limit Your Results

JSTOR

What is a Scholarly Article?

Examples

Arno Jewett. “Detecting and Analyzing Propaganda.” The English Journal, vol. 29, no. 2, 1940, pp. 105–115. JSTOR​ www.jstor.org/stable/805505.

Bostdorff, Denise M., and Steven R. Goldzwig. “History, Collective Memory, and the Appropriation of Martin Luther King, Jr.: Reagan's Rhetorical Legacy. ”Presidential Studies Quarterly, vol. 35, no. 4, 2005, pp. 661–690. www.jstor.org/stable/27552723.

Hobbs, Renee and Sandra McGee. "Teaching about Propaganda: An Examination of the Historical Roots of Media Literacy." Journal     of Media Literacy Education, vol.6, no. 2, 2016, pp. 56-66. ERIC, http://eric.ed.gov/?id=EJ1079046.

 
 

The Library or Google?

Google Search

Google Web Search

Google Scholar Searches

Boolean Searches

Use AND to find all your search terms
migrant AND labour AND remittances

Use OR to find any of your search terms
migration OR remittances

Search for exact phrases using quotations " " (this is important to prevent confusion with "economic development".)
“development economics”

Use truncation (*) to find different word endings and plurals
econom* finds economist, economic, economics, economy, economical

Use the Wildcard (?) to find variations in spelling
labo?r finds labor and labour

Use brackets ( )  for complex search statements
“development economics” AND (migration OR remittances)

 

Google Scholar Search
Zurich International School
Steinarcherstrasse 140
8820 Wädenswil, Switzerland
+41 (0) 58 750 2500