Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

US - ZIS Upper School Resources: Home

Welcome to the landing page for the ZIS US Library

Digital Resources: Links / Logins / Passwords

Need a login or password for a database or subscription service?

Click on the ZIS US Databases here or  in the Quick Links above.

 

 

eBooks: Overdrive & sSora

WORD PLAY

Whether you want to know if the right word for this season is autumn or fall, or when to use further or farther or familiarize yourself with the meanings of words like 'cattywampus' and the origins of 'gardyloo' - checkout Meriam-Webster.co. at https://www.merriam-webster.com/words-at-play/see all.  Of course, the site is a great resource for looking up the meaning of specific words, but it also provides some fun and interesting facts about where/when words originated as well as word games, thesaurus, vocabulary builder and 'words of the day and week' lists (this week includes 'finsta' and 'culmination').  Have a browse and have some word fun.

Digital Magazines

FLIPSTER 

FLIPSTER is an easy to use digital magazine newsstand that allows access to top periodicals via smart devises and tablets.  This resource is available in the the Upper School Library through the I-pads on the magazine rack.  For information on how to use Flpster on a portable device or tablet please ask the Librarian. 

 

                     

New York Times Access

New York Times Instructions
New York Times Instructions

New York Times Book Reviews RSS

Loading ...

Our ZIS Secondary Library

Welcome Back!!!

ZIS Upper School Resources welcomes both new and returning students to the 2022/2023 school year.  For those returning students, hopefully you have noticed the changes to the former Upper School Library.  Not only has the location and floor plan altered, it has also merged with the former Middle School Library to provide nearly 14,000 books and resource materials.

 

The Upper School Resources is a multi-floor flexible space for students and teachers to interact, engage and share ides.  

 

The upper floor houses the Mother Tongue collection, magazines and provides seating for nearly 40 students in a well lit works space.   

Descending the stairs to the lower level brings students, staff and visitors to the non-fiction, fiction collections, table top games and plenty of seating for work or gathering with friends.  The stairway is also a flexible space where class meetings and presentations can be held in a coliseum setting. 

The specifically designated 'Quiet Room' is also located on the lower floor where students can utilize the environment for concentrated study.   

Librarian and volunteers are available to assist with locating materials, improve research skills and other information needs.  Having the IT department close by is also a benefit.

Resources such as Follett and Flipster continue to be available.

Whether it's browsing the shelves for academic or pleasure reading, doing research, collaborating or finding a quiet place to study, the ZIS Upper School Resources is a welcoming environment.

Search ZIS Secondary School Library Catalog

Banned Books

Banned Books Week - September 18-24, 2022

 At ZIS we encourage students to read broadly in an effort to develop empathetic and open-minded readers.  The freedom to read is a privilege, and one we don’t take lightly.  In the coming weeks we will featured books in our collection that have been challenged or banned in libraries around the world.  These books include: The Diary of Anne Frank, Harry Potter, Animal Farm, Captain Underpants, Charlotte's Web, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and more.  This issue has led to a lively discussion on the importance of freedom of information and students’ rights as young readers.  The library staff has also discussed the importance of involving parents in reading choices in order to tackle challenging issues together as a family.

For further information regarding Banned Books follow this link to the American Library Association's list of 100 banned and challenged books from 2010-2019.

https://www.ala.org/advocacy/bbooks/frequentlychallengedbooks/decade2019

 

VISITING AUTHOR

Neal Shusterman is a New York Times bestselling author of more than 30 books (over half of those are available in the ZIS Secondary Resource Center) and has received numerous honors.  Mr. Shusterman will be visiting the ZIS Secondary Campus on October 7th 2022.  Check-out some of his titles from the library prior to his visit.  Also, you can visit his web site http://www.storyman.com/ to find out more about him, his books and projects.  We are looking forward to his visit. 

New Arrivals

New Books 

The ZIS Secondary School Resources been busy processing and getting new book arrivals ready to be placed on the shelves.  There is a variety of fictions genres as well as new non-fiction in the short list below and plenty of other titles that have been added to the collection.  Come in, browse the shelves, search electronically or ask the librarians for something new to read. 

Stunning Child Literacy Stats

The ZIS Secondary Library Mission

  • To ensure learners grow as competent, ethical users and producers of ideas and information.
  • To prepare life-long learners who are effective communicators, critical researchers and problem solvers.
  • To collaborate and share with audiences beyond our school walls.
  • To model our school's mission and support learners in the pursuit of aesthetic growth and personal learning pathways.

Zentralbibliotek Zurich

NHS Study Center in the Library

As the this year's academic workload starts to 'ramp-up', remember that the National Honors Society is here to assist.   

The NHS is in the process of creating a schedule for students to utilize the organization during the school year.  As that schedule becomes available, it will be published on many of the ZIS information portals. 
 
The ZIS chapter of the National Honors Society hopes to see you if you need any help!
 

Extended Essay

At the core of the IB Diploma Program is the 4,000 word extended essay.  The following link will take you to the ZIS EE LibGuide. Use this guide to access IB documents and ZIS advice for completing your extended essay.  Good luck to all IB Diploma students and don't forget to come into your US Library for any further research needs.

Libraries are Beautiful

Want to visit a beautiful library but are unable due to travel restrictions?  CNN Style has complied a list of the world's most beautiful libraries you can visit electronically.  From Holland to the Czech Republic, South Korea to China, Venice, Italy, Baltimore, US and Oxford, UK, these libraries not only hold the history of knowledge but are wonders of architecture and design. 

https://edition.cnn.com/style/article/most-beautiful-libraries-in-the-world/index.html

Admont Abbey, Admont, Austrisa

Closer to home - The Abbey Library of St. Gallen, located on the Southwest edge of the Bodensee, is worth the visit.  This Baroque hall was built between 1758 and 1767 under the direction of Peter Thumb, an Austrian architect from Bregenzerwald. Changing exhibitions of the valuable manuscripts and unique documents stored in the library's archives leave a lasting impression of the spiritual and cultural life of St. Gallen's abbey.  Besides the volumes of historical books and exhibits, a unique aspect of this library is that visitors are provided slippers to ensure the original wood flooring remain protected.

. Abbey Library of St. Gallen, St. Gallen, Switzerland

https://st.gallen-bodensee.ch/en/experiences/art-and-culture/overview-art-culture/detail/abbey-library-of-st-gallen-c0d07da1-7875-4053-b129-2820385dade7.html

Upper School Librarian Contact

Zurich International School
Steinarcherstrasse 140
8820 Wädenswil, Switzerland
+41 (0) 58 750 2500