Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home Learning Boredom busters! Make learning fun during school closure
Top tip of the week.
Time for Kids has opened access to a library of free magazines.
Get lost in a story (elementary)
Open a world of reading with the ZIS collection of eBooks, audiobooks and read alongs from OverDrive. Your virtual book library all in one! Download the Sora app to your phone or device - its easy to read! Log in with your familynamelibrarynumber.
MyCapstoneLibrary (free access collection)
Free access during the school closure to MyCapstone Library's eBook collection. eBooks, read alouds by interest, reading level and grade range for K-8.
Collection of curated eBooks for children in grades K-6. (School board access until August 31, 2020)
Curated database of streaming audio books for children in Grades K-6. (School board access until August 31, 2020)
Audible Stories PK-12
Multilingual collection of audiobooks for students in PK - 12. (School board access during school closure)
Literacy Place Shared eReading
Grades K-3. Shared eReading is a compilation of digital books with reading prompts and audio for children to follow along with.Teaching plans also included. (Access until June 30, 2020)
Unite for Literacy
Free digital library of picturebooks. Includes ability to have the books read out loud in multiple languages. Ideal for English and French learners.
Authors are reading your favorite books online!
It is wonderful to see so many authors reading their books for children online. Below is a list of some sites where you can quickly find links to author live or recorded story times.
Can't find your favorite? Visit the author's website and chances you will find videos there!
Todays featuring: David Harbour reading this fun and cheeky book Snappsy the alligator (did not ask to be in this book) by Julie Falatko.
For additional read-aloud links and resources, visit Pernille Ripp's blog here
Take a virtual trip and learn something fun!
Curious? Want to learn more? Check out the resources below.
Research database for emerging readers in grades K-3 covering animals and earth & space. Enriched with spoken-word audio, text highlighting and audio and video clips. For ZIS password, click here.
PowerKnowledge Earth & Space Science
Everything you need to know about earth systems, ecosystems, weather, space and more. Includes articles, videos, text-to-speech, interactive games and activities, resource lists and lesson plans. ZIS password here.
PowerKnowledge Physical Science
Everything you need to know about atoms & molecules, energy, matter, force and motion, the earth, temperature and more. Includes articles, videos, interactive games & activities, lesson plans and resource lists. ZIS password here.
Grades 3-5. TrueFlix helps children strengthen literacy skills, build science and social studies knowledge, and cultivate 21st-century skills. Watch, read, and learn cool facts about people, science, and history. (Access until June 30, 2020)
Grades 4-9. ScienceFlix offers teachers and parents hands-on projects, activities, videos, and more to help kids learn about science. (Access until June 30, 2020)
Top tips for online learning
We highly recommend Common Sense Media as a resource to help you and your family find balance and support during this time of online learning. We use many of their resources in lessons but they have lots of useful tips for families too.
Zurich International School
8820 Wädenswil, Switzerland
+41 (0) 58 750 2500