Skip to main content

US - West Africa: Databases

This guide supports the Medieval Empires of West Africa unit in History 10.

Subscription Databases

ZIS subscribes to a number of databases some of which feature peer reviewed academic articles which you will not find on the internet.  Access three of these databases on this page or go to the Library Moodle page for our full list of databases and passwords.

Database Advice

Searching the databases helps you to find reliable, academic information.  Learn the focus of the databases which are available to you through your academic institution.  For example, Britannica School Edition is an excellent place to start any research as you will find general, introductory encyclopedic information on your topic including publicly licensed images from Image Quest and multi media.  Whereas, JSTOR is a database of scholarly articles on the humanities, sciences and arts.  EBSCO Host gives you access to periodicals covering a wide range of subject areas that are of interest to high-school students including art, history, sports, music, film, travel, science, the Internet, fashion, religion, nature, hobbies, current events, fiction and much more.  Remember that all databases and passwords can be found on the library moodle page.

For example, use the Britannica search bar above to find great articles on West Africa such as 

Al Bakir (primary source)  writing about Ghana

The basics about Songhai

Mansa Musa

Britannica School Edition

EBSCO Host

Research databases
Limit Your Results

JSTOR

The Library or Google?

Google Seaarch

Google Web Search

Google Scholar Searches

Boolean Searches

Use AND to find all your search terms
migrant AND labour AND remittances

Use OR to find any of your search terms
migration OR remittances

Search for exact phrases using quotations " " (this is important to prevent confusion with "economic development".)
“development economics”

Use truncation (*) to find different word endings and plurals
econom* finds economist, economic, economics, economy, economical

Use the Wildcard (?) to find variations in spelling
labo?r finds labor and labour

Use brackets ( )  for complex search statements
“development economics” AND (migration OR remittances)

 

Google Scholar Search
Zurich International School
Steinarcherstrasse 140
8820 W├Ądenswil, Switzerland
+41 (0) 58 750 2500